Political System of Brunei

Brunei Army

Since 1984, Brunei has been an independent Sultanate with Islam as a state religion. The constitution is from 1959, with the most recent change in 2004. The Sultan is assisted by four councils, the religious council, a judicial council (privy council), the council of ministers and the council of succession. A 21-member legislative council met in 2004 for the first time since 1984. The Council presented proposals for a number…

Read More

History of Brunei

Sultan Omar Ali Saifuddin Mosque in the capital Bandar Seri Begawan stood ready in 1958 and is considered the country's largest landmark.

Little is known about Brunei’s oldest history, but it is known that Islam was introduced in the 15th century. In the 16th century, Brunei was an important trading center with dominion all over Borneo. In 1580, the Spaniards took Brunei. They were later expelled, but eventually the influence of the Sultanate was diminished by the Portuguese and later by the Dutch; at the beginning of the 19th century it covered…

Read More

Georgia’s Political System

Georgia's Political System

Under the 1995 Constitution, Georgia is a Democratic Republic. The Constitution emphasizes Georgia’s territorial integrity, including Abkhazia, Adzaria and South Ossetia (where there have been open conflicts due to demands for the demolition of the central power). The supreme executive power has been with the president since independence. The president is the head of state and is directly elected by the people for a five-year term, with the possibility of…

Read More